4 comments

  1. Thanks for reading and re-blogging this. I am really looking forward to continuing with the group I describe in the blog. As an English teacher, I am particularly looking forward to reaching beyond my comfort zone–the philosophical works ahead will certainly provide a good challenge.

    1. I hope you will keep us all informed how future readings go. I had the privilege of being associated with a Great Books Program at the University of North Texas from 1993 until 2002. The coursework was interdisciplinary, with an English, History, & Philosophy professor meeting simultaneously with the students taking the course. Nine credit hours each in the Fall & Spring semesters. It was an amazing journey that literally changed the direction of my life. I came into UNT a history major who loved literature and now am I philosopher who cannot think without history & poetics. 8^)

      1. I believe that while the distinctions between the disciplines are necessary, we have built walls in education between them when what we really want are curtains.

      2. I entirely agree. Our work at the Center for the Study of Interdisciplinarity is exactly about this. I did a talk a few months back in which I spoke about the need to disrupt these walls (Dedisciplinize), see what channels of possibility irrupt into our view (Interdisciplinize), and create an eruption of opportunity that takes us beyond the walls of academia into the world at large (Transdisciplinize). I mean it to be more descriptive than normative, but I think most people think I am trying to create some kind of standardized pattern. That is the farthest thing from my mind. When we can allow fresh air to flow between, beneath, behind, and before the curtains, there are all kinds of responses to our world.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.